Click here to skip to main content.
Discrete CollectionsThe Women's Library
TitleCommittee on International Relations (and papers relating to IFUW)
Ref No5BFW/03
Box Fetch NoBox 17-34, Box 184-185, OS 100
Extent21 A boxes
Admin Biographical HistoryThe Committee International Relations was formed in 1919.

The main business of its early meetings was organising the first International Federation of University Women (IFUW) Conference.

By 1921-22 its main work was in the provision and award of international scholarships for graduate students.

Subsequently the committee considered such issues as: overseas meetings; scholarships for foreign students; exchanges (i.e. teachers and other workers); travel schemes; university clubs; liasion with IFUW and overseas organisations; enquiries from overseas individuals, etc.

Chairs to 1980:
Winifred Cullis, 1919-24;
Caroline Spurgeon and Ida Smedley MacLean, 1925-26
Ida Smedley MacLean and Dora Russell, 1927-28
Ida Smedley MacLean , 1929-44
Winifred Cullis, 1944-47
Theodora Bosanquet, 1944-45
Edith Clara Batho, 1947-50
Muriel Bond, 1951-55
Miss J M Bowie, 1956-58
Irene A F Hilton, 1958-59
Miss A M Almond, 1960-65
Miss F D Mackenzie-Whyte, 1965-71
Miss M Laurence, 1971-73
Dr H S Dunsmore, 1973-75
Mrs F M Sainsbury, 1975-78
Mrs N A Spells, 1978-80

Sub-Committees included:

- Hospitality Sub-Committee
Its work included providing hospitality for foreign visitors (i.e. in 1921 it worked with the Women's Institute to provide WI membership for foreign women students). Its first Chair was Mrs Bertrand Russell [Alys Pearsall Smith].

- Academic Sub-Committee on Scholarships and Exchange Lectureships
Established in September 1920 to examine applications for fellowships and make recommendations relating to regulations. Its first chair was Miss [Margaret] Tuke.

- Finance and Propaganda, 5BFW/03/01/1A
Established in September 1920 to raise funds for international fellowships and for supplementing these when necessary; to raise funds to assist plans for promoting interchange of lecturers and instructors between the Universities of Great Britain and other countries; to assist the work of the Hospitality Sub-Committee and to make the organisation and aims of the International Federation of University Women (IFUW) known as widely as possible). Its first Chair was Mrs Bertrand Russell [Alys Pearsall Smith].

- International Fellowships Fund Appeal Sub-Committee, 5BFW/03/01/3
First meeting was held on 3 December 1924, when its main object was to raise £20,000 towards the Million Dollar Fund. Its first chair was Mrs Smedley Maclean [Ida Smedley Maclean].

- Joint Committee on Interchange of Secondary School Teachers
Description5BFW/03/01 contains (mostly signed) minutes.
There are also some unsigned duplicated minutes in 5BFW/03/02.

5BFW/03/02 contains committee papers, 1919-70, arranged by their original order (previously they had the reference CIR followed by a running number).
This series includes:
- early reports of the committee (5BFW/03/02/06)
- Hospitality Sub-Committee / Finance and Hospitality Sub-Committee papers, 1920-25 (5BFW/03/02/04-05)
- IFUW papers, including conferences
- duplicated copies of the Committee's minutes

5BFW/03/03 contains correspondence from Miss Long, BFUW Honorary Secretary, including on the establishment of the Committee on International Relations, 1919.

5BFW/03/04 contains papers of the Academic Sub-Committee / Academic Awards Committee, 1921-98. Includes signed minutes (1921-98) and reports from fellows on their work.

5BFW/03/05 contains a scrapbook of press cuttings relating to IFUW conferences, 1925-32 (especially Edinburgh, 1932).

5BFW/03/06 contains material from various sources relating to IFUW.

[This series formerly had the reference 5BFW/05.]
Access StatusOpen
    Powered by CalmView© 2008-2020